Hamish Macbeth


Several of us on staff are fans of M.C. Beaton’s mystery series featuring Hamish Macbeth.  Her most recent title is “Death of a Nurse.”

Easy-to-read mysteries, her books are part murder mystery, part travelog of the Scottish Highlands, and part exploration of the townsfolk of Lochdubh.

“Death of a Nurse” deals with the death of two nurses, one son of a rich invalid,  one young girl with the ability to see the future, one drug dealer, and one sleazy private detective.  Hamish definitely has his hands full with these cases, but in the end his keen mind enables him to nail the murderers.

0794051414229_p0_v2_s118x184.jpgIf you enjoy the books, you might want to try one of the several seasons of the British TV series.  Robert Carlyle plays Hamish Macbeth.  The series brings to life many of the characters in Beaton’s books.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: