There are many crossover authors but very few are in the same category as Louise Erdrich.  Widely acclaimed as a member of the second wave of the Native American Renaissance, Erdrich’s  work for children, as well as adults, incorporates Native American traditions.  As an enrolled member of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa, her mother was part Chippewa, she lends an authentic voice to her writing.

Her newest children’s book “Makoons” is the fifth book in the Birchbark House series. She own Birchbark Books, which is a book store that she and her staff consider to be a teaching shop.9780060577933_p0_v2_s192x300.jpg

The first three books in the series focused on a girl named Omakayas.  Books four and five are about Omakayas’s twin sons, Chicadee and Makoons. While this book continues the story line, it can stand alone.

The twins are reunited after Chicadee was kidnapped.  The book opens with a strong vision that the boys will become great hunters but will not be able to return to their home in the east nor will they be able to save all of their family.

One of the highlights of the story is a major buffalo hunt.  More than thirty buffalo are killed.  The tribe will use these animals for food, hides, and much more.  The boys take part in the kill and adopt an orphaned buffalo calf.

Geared for children ages 8-12, “Makoons” will appeal to readers who enjoy an adventure story and also have an interest in history and Indian culture.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s