CILIP and Awards

In the United Kingdom, the CILIP Carnegie Medal and the Kate Greenaway Medal (illustration) for best children’s books are prestigious awards  in England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. A short list has been released in preparation for the announcement of the winners in June.  This year titles by Lauren Wolk, Mal Peet, Phillip Reeve and Ruth Sepetys are on the list. The awards celebrate their 80th year in 2017.  The awards are judged by librarians around Britain. Past winners include C.S. Lewis, Arthur Ransome, and Sarah Crossan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s