Shortlists for UK children’s books announced

Image result for kate greenaway medal

The finalists were announced today for the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Awards.

The CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018 shortlist is:

  1. Wed Wabbit by Lissa Evans
  2. After the Fire by Will Hill
  3. Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean
  4. Rook by Anthony McGowan
  5. Release by Patrick Ness
  6. Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick
  7. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
  8. Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk

    The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2018 shortlist is:

  1. King of the Sky illustrated by Laura Carlin and written by Nicola Davies
  2. Night Shift illustrated and written by Debi Gliori
  3. A First Book of Animals illustrated by Petr Horáček and written by Nicola Davies
  4. The Song from Somewhere Else illustrated by Levi Pinfold and written by A.F. Harrold
  5. Town is by the Sea illustrated by Sydney Smith and written by Joanne Schwartz
  6. Thornhill illustrated and written by Pam Smy
  7. Under the Same Sky illustrated and written by Britta Teckentrup

“Patrick Ness could become the first author to win a Carnegie medal three times after his novel Release made the shortlist for the UK’s oldest and most prestigious children’s book award.” says The Guardian. Unlike the USA’s Newbery and Caldecott Awards, the UK publishes the books that made the shortlists before announcing their final winners at a later date. CLICK the icon above to read more about the medals and shortlist winners.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s