“Lying in Wait” by Liz Nugent

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.

Lying in Wait: A Novel

Nugent’s second novel begins with another shocking opening and immediately draws you in. As in Nugent’s first book, “Unravelling Oliver,” we know from the first sentence that someone has been killed and who did it. Lydia and her husband, Andrew, have a nice life with their son, Laurence,  in Dublin- on the surface of things. Andrew is a judge and the family lives in a mansion inherited from Lydia’s father. However, just beneath the facade the family is about to explode.  What is their connection to the dead girl, Annie Doyle? Laurence unwittingly stumbles upon the gruesome information that his parents are involved in her death.  Annie Doyle’s sister, Karen, is determined to discover what really happened to Annie.  The lies and secrecy build to a crescendo of horrifying events that will keep readers guessing through to the very last page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s