Shamus Awards

For anyone interested in mysteries, there is another group of awards to check out: the Shamus awards, which are awarded annually by the Private Eye Writers of America. This organization was founded in 1981 by Robert J. Randisi, who also created the Shamus award. A Private Eye, or Private Investigator, is defined as a private citizen who is paid to investigate crimes. The awards are given in several categories: Best PI hardcover, Best Original PI paperback, Best First PI novel, and Best PI Short Story. Other awards include: “The Eye”, which is given to an author for lifetime achievement, and “The Hammer”, awarded to the character, not the author, for his/her contribution to and longevity in the field. Very interesting, indeed… Check here for a complete list of winners, past and present.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s