Author Archive

Dewey Decibel Podcast

January 9, 2019

deweyAmerican Libraries Direct offers 33 episodes to date on varied subjects through soundcloud.com. To list just a few episodes: “The Secret Lives of Librarians”, “Diversifying Comics”, “Writers on Writing” and “Protecting Our Privacy”. I found a bonus episode between numbers 22 & 23 titled “Inside the 2018 Youth Media Awards.” This episode allows one to listen in on phone calls made to award winners, information offered by committee members and a classroom debate about the winner. I plan on looking for this year’s winners to be mentioned in a future podcast.  Check it out!

You Me Everything

January 8, 2019

allaaaindexCatherine Isaac’s American debut novel is an inspiring story about family ties, friendship and courage. Jess’s mother has Huntington’s disease, a serious and fatal disease, whose symptoms can be described as having ALS, Parkinson’s, and Alzheimer’s, all at the same time. HD carries with it the threat of a 50% chance of passing the gene on to one’s children. So Jess, a single mom, promises her Mum that she will try to reunite her son William with his father, Adam, who left when the boy was a baby. Along with several friends, Jess and William travel to the countryside of France, to Adam’s renovated resort. Many secrets come to light, and Jess finds herself with the chance to change her life for the better. I’m looking forward to the next offering by this author. For fans of JoJo Moyes and Jenny Colgan, who have both given this novel high praise.

A Dog’s Purpose

January 2, 2019

dog's purposeThis is definitely a movie for dog lovers. It was released in 2017, based on a book by W. Bruce Cameron, as is the new movie due out on 1/11, A Dog’s Way Home. A Dog’s Purpose is rated PG for some perilous elements, but on the whole, it is a heart warming story of a boy and his faithful dog. Ethan is a young boy whose best friend is his dog, Bailey, who is there for him through good times and bad. Bailey returns in different dog forms throughout the film, and questions what his purpose in life is. By the movie’s ending, he has figured out the answer to his question in the best way possible. Starring in the movie are actors Dennis Quaid and Peggy Lipton.

How To Be a Good Creature: A Memoir in Thirteen Animals

December 30, 2018

aaa index (1)This is a delightful read; written by scientist and well-published author Sy Montgomery, How to Be a Good Creature affords glimpses into her life, divided among her various relationships with different remarkable animals. They range from border collies to animal personalities she encountered during her numerous expeditions to many parts of the world. For example, Clarabelle, the pink-toed tarantula Sy met in French Guiana, and the three emus she happened upon in Australia, are only a few who supplied Sy with lessons in how to be a better “creature”.  I heartily recommend this unusual book: Montgomery’s plain writing is so refreshing, her optimism is very uplifting and the illustrations by Rebecca Green are adorable. Not to mention it’s a quick read for those who are under time constraints on their reading…

The Dream Daughter

December 29, 2018

_index (1)Do you believe in time travel? Diane Chamberlain’s latest novel reads as a journey through time for many of its central characters. Carly Sears has lost her husband to the Vietnam War, and when she finds out she is pregnant, she feels this will be the comfort she has been trying to find since his death. But this is 1970 when Carly finds out her baby has a fatal heart defect, and there is no medical technology available to correct the problem. However, her brother-in-law Hunter suggests a possible way forward. Carly weighs the risks and makes her decision. The story has a great twist at the end, and one roots for Carly and her daughter throughout the novel. Definitely recommended for fans of mother-daughter stories.


%d bloggers like this: