Archive for the ‘Fiction’ Category

The Lost Girls of Paris

February 24, 2019

indexThe SOE, or Special Operations Executive, was an English intelligence agency that was authorized by Churchill to “set Europe ablaze,” using subversion and sabotage during WWII. Eleanor Trigg is the fictional head of a program within the SOE to train women as radio transmitters, theorizing that they are less likely to be suspected by the Germans than male operatives. But at one point, almost an entire network¬† based in and around Paris begins to disappear, and one operative’s radio transmissions become erratic. Eleanor tries to warn the Director that the girls may have been compromised, but he dismisses her fears. Jenoff does an impressive job of placing the reader in the middle of 1944 Occupied France, with her description of the brutal treatment of the French by the Germans and the French (Vichy) government. She suggests that the network of informants was considered expendable by the English government, in order to mislead the enemy, a horrifying premise. It’s an excellent read for anyone interested in WWII…

The Queen of Hearts

February 13, 2019

indexZadie and Emma met two summers before college at a camp for students interested in medicine, and they have been best friends ever since. Zadie is a pediatric cardiologist with three kids, and Emma is a trauma surgeon with one son. They both live in Charlotte, North Carolina and speak almost every day. However, a handsome “Dr. X” joins Emma’s practice and she discovers he is a blast from the past — both hers and Zadie’s. Emma¬† hasn’t been completely honest with her best friend, and the secret that she is keeping back is now much harder for her to hide. This novel is Kimmery Martin’s first, and it is blessed with well developed characters and a heart warming plot. Ms. Martin is an ER doc who decided to develop a medical based drama on what she knows firsthand. I enjoyed it, hope you do as well.

The Sapphire Widow

January 26, 2019

indexGalle,a small town in Ceylon, in 1935, is the setting for Dinah Jeffries’s latest historical novel. Louisa Reeve is married to a handsome merchant in the gem trade and her only sadness comes having lost a daughter, a baby who was born dead, as well as having had several miscarriages. When a sudden loss occurs, she must deal with yet more grief as she tries to come to terms with this huge hole in her life. Louisa finds out several secrets about this loss and must adjust her life to adapt to yet more changes in her lifestyle, especially one involving a child. It’s a bit slow moving, but a good read.

You Me Everything

January 8, 2019

allaaaindexCatherine Isaac’s American debut novel is an inspiring story about family ties, friendship and courage. Jess’s mother has Huntington’s disease, a serious and fatal disease, whose symptoms can be described as having ALS, Parkinson’s, and Alzheimer’s, all at the same time. HD carries with it the threat of a 50% chance of passing the gene on to one’s children. So Jess, a single mom, promises her Mum that she will try to reunite her son William with his father, Adam, who left when the boy was a baby. Along with several friends, Jess and William travel to the countryside of France, to Adam’s renovated resort. Many secrets come to light, and Jess finds herself with the chance to change her life for the better. I’m looking forward to the next offering by this author. For fans of JoJo Moyes and Jenny Colgan, who have both given this novel high praise.

The Dream Daughter

December 29, 2018

_index (1)Do you believe in time travel? Diane Chamberlain’s latest novel reads as a journey through time for many of its central characters. Carly Sears has lost her husband to the Vietnam War, and when she finds out she is pregnant, she feels this will be the comfort she has been trying to find since his death. But this is 1970 when Carly finds out her baby has a fatal heart defect, and there is no medical technology available to correct the problem. However, her brother-in-law Hunter suggests a possible way forward. Carly weighs the risks and makes her decision. The story has a great twist at the end, and one roots for Carly and her daughter throughout the novel. Definitely recommended for fans of mother-daughter stories.


%d bloggers like this: