Archive for the ‘Fiction’ Category

You Me Everything

January 8, 2019

allaaaindexCatherine Isaac’s American debut novel is an inspiring story about family ties, friendship and courage. Jess’s mother has Huntington’s disease, a serious and fatal disease, whose symptoms can be described as having ALS, Parkinson’s, and Alzheimer’s, all at the same time. HD carries with it the threat of a 50% chance of passing the gene on to one’s children. So Jess, a single mom, promises her Mum that she will try to reunite her son William with his father, Adam, who left when the boy was a baby. Along with several friends, Jess and William travel to the countryside of France, to Adam’s renovated resort. Many secrets come to light, and Jess finds herself with the chance to change her life for the better. I’m looking forward to the next offering by this author. For fans of JoJo Moyes and Jenny Colgan, who have both given this novel high praise.

The Dream Daughter

December 29, 2018

_index (1)Do you believe in time travel? Diane Chamberlain’s latest novel reads as a journey through time for many of its central characters. Carly Sears has lost her husband to the Vietnam War, and when she finds out she is pregnant, she feels this will be the comfort she has been trying to find since his death. But this is 1970 when Carly finds out her baby has a fatal heart defect, and there is no medical technology available to correct the problem. However, her brother-in-law Hunter suggests a possible way forward. Carly weighs the risks and makes her decision. The story has a great twist at the end, and one roots for Carly and her daughter throughout the novel. Definitely recommended for fans of mother-daughter stories.

Transcription

December 26, 2018

indexWritten by Kate Atkinson, this novel skips back and forth between the present day of 1950 and 10 years earlier, when the protagonist, Juliet Armstrong, worked for MI5 during the war. She was tasked with typing up the conversations of known Nazi sympathizers and spies who met in the flat next door. Transcription is a character laden novel, with figures on both sides of the war fully fleshed out, from Mr.Toby, a British spy who is pretending to be a spy for the Gestapo ( and wore a “bashed trilby and old trench coat”) to Juliet, a quick thinking young woman who was able to help with the disposal of a body and the ensuing cleanup. It was a bit slow at times for me, and the cast of characters was tough to keep straight, but I enjoyed the surprising twist at the end of the novel. Recommended for those who enjoy character- driven fiction…

Paris by the Book

November 28, 2018

indexThis was a very disappointing book. I love all titles about Paris, and this is the first that I could not get into. It’s written by Liam Callahan, and is the story of Leah, whose husband Robert has left her and her two daughters. He’s a writer who has left for many chunks of time before, but never for this long. And he left no note: he would always leave a note in the past. Leah is convinced he’s dead, when she happens to find a clue in his cereal that he has booked three tickets to Paris for them. The novel is written in first person, and spends a great deal of time in Leah’s head. It took 66 pages to get them to Paris, and I just gave up. Just my two cents…

Cottage by the Sea

November 7, 2018

aa bookDebbie Macomber’s latest novel centers around Annie Marlow, a young woman who experiences a heartbreaking loss, and compensates by moving back to a place she visited in summers past, where she felt both safe and happy. In the small town of Oceanside, in the Pacific Northwest, Annie is able to start over, making new friends and meeting a kind man, Keaton, that she finds herself attracted to. But when she experiences the chance of a lifetime, Annie may not be able to reconcile her professional life with her personal life. Macomber pens a “feel good” story that the reader can become immersed in and shut out the outside world for a spell.


%d bloggers like this: